Dr. Jonathan Nyquist, Professor of Geophysics, received a B.A. (1980) in physics from Macalester College, a M.S. (1982) in physics from the University of Maryland and a PhD (1986) in geophysics from the University of Wisconsin.  After working for over a decade as a researcher the Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Dr. Nyquist accepted a position in 1997 at Temple University as Weeks Chair of Environmental geology, and currently serves as Chairman of the Department of Earth and Environmental Science.

Perennially active in the near-surface geophysics community, he has served as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Environmental and Engineering Geophysics (JEEG), as president and past-president of the Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society (EEGS), and currently serves on the board of directors for Geoscientists Without Borders (GWB).  For his contributions to the profession Dr. Nyquist received the EEGS Gold Medal Award in 2007, and in 2011 the Society of Exploration Geophysics (SEG) presented him with the Harold Mooney Award “in recognition of scientific and technical excellence and innovation leading to the advancement of near-surface geophysics.”

From 2018-2023, Dr. Nyquist served as Director of General Education in Temple’s office of the Vice-Provost for Undergraduate Research.

Mailing Address:
Department of Earth & Enviromental Sciences
Rm 319 Beury Hall, Temple University
1901 N. 13th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19122-6081, USA