PostDoctoral Research Advisor or Co-Advisor:

  • 2014-2017: Postdoctoral Research Advisor: Dr. Martin Shoenball: Research the geomechanics and seismicity of geothermal systems. (Jointly Advised with Jonathan Glen, U.S. Geological Survey)
  • 2013-2016: Postdoctoral Research Advisor: Dr. Tabrez Ali: Poroelastic Modeling of Impulse and Response in Geothermal Systems. (Jointly Advised with Dr. Kurt Feigl, University of Wisconsin, Madison)
  • 2009-2012: Postdoctoral Research Advisor: Dr. J. Ole Kaven; Project: Fault geometry and mechanics in the Coso geothermal field. (Jointly Advised with Dr. Steven H. Hickman of the U.S. Geological Survey)

Masters Research Advisor:

  • 2021-present: Breeann Stowe: Combined Structural Analysis of Core and Image log of TGH MB76-31 East of Mount Baker, Washington StateU (Washington Play-Fairway, Phase 3) (current)
  • 2019-present: Morgan Sawyer: Geomechanics ofGeothermal Systems in Surprise Valley, CA (current)
  • 2017-2019: [Phillip An]Drew Spake: Geothermal Exploration North of Mount Saint Helens, Washington State, USA (Washington Play-Fairway, Phase 3) (current)
  • 2014-2016: Roselyne Laboso: Spatial Heterogeneity of Permeability as Influenced by Stress States and Fault Slip.(graduated)
  • 2013-2015: Olivia Wells: Investigation of the source and evolution of fracture surface topography and its dependence on slip. (graduated)
  • 2011-2013: Justin Roth: (Co-Advisor: Alexandra Davatzes): Quantifying the volume of porosity in fractured and un-fractured rocks from the Newberry Volcano: An evaluation and comparison of two- and three- dimensional methods. (graduated)
  • 2010-2012: Michael Swyer: Evaluating the role of the rhyolite ridge fault system in the desert peak geothermal field, NV: Boundary element modeling of fracture potential in proximity to fault slip. (graduated)
  • 2009-2011: Kelly Blake: Quantifying Length-Scale Dependence of Stress Heterogeneities in the Earth’s Crust in the Vicinity of a Geothermal Field: Coso Geothermal Field, CA. (graduated)
  • 2009-2011: Kirby Runyon (Co-Advisor, Primary advisor: Alexandra Davatzes): Tectonic pressurization of Athabasca Valles: Mapping and modeling of a graben-sourced outflow system on Mars. (graduated)
  • 2008-2009: Nwachukwu Anyamele: Characterizing mechanisms of clay gouge formation and implications for permeability, Moab fault, Utah. (graduated)

Masters Research Advisor (RES)

(RES School of Renewable Energy Science, Iceland: These students spent time as visiting researchers within the Davatzes Laboratory, with the project initiated during the summer session of the corresponding 1st year. Unless otherwise noted, Davatzes was the primary research advisor.)

  • 2010-2011: Research Advisor (Co-Advisor Ragnar Asmundsson) (Masters of Science): Joseph Batir: Stress field Characterization of the Hellisheidi Geothermal field and possibilities to improve Injection Capabilities. (graduated)
  • 2010-2011: Research Advisor: James Drew Fetterman, Thesis: Analysis of Porosity Generation in Geothermal Systems. (graduated)
  • 2010-2011: Research Advisor: Amelia Letvin, Thesis: Cuttings and Geophysical Log Analysis at the Newberry Geothermal Field. (graduated)
  • 2009-2010: Research Advisor: Tryana Garza-Cruz (student at RES School of Renewable Energy Sciences, Iceland) Thesis: Numerical Modeling of the nucleation conditions and geometry of petal-centerline fractures below a borehole, a sensitivity study and application to the Coso Geothermal Field. (graduated, top-of-class)

note: Only students primarily advised are listed here. For a complete list of students I worked with, please refer to my CV and publications.



v2016-12-12, © Nicholas C. Davatzes, 2016