Monthly Archives: November 2019

Second Annual Nobel Prize Lecture

Flyer for the lectureLast year, Theta of PA, the Temple University chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, inaugurated an annual lecture series about the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Honor of Alfred Nobel, co-sponsored by the Temple University Phi Beta Kappa chapter and the Temple Economics Society. Shortly after the announcement of the prize in October, a faculty member from the Temple Economics Department with expertise in the area of that year’s prize, will deliver the lecture in the series.

On October 28, 2019, Dr. Shreyasee Das, Assistant Professor of Economics at Temple, delivered the second lecture in the series on this year’s winners: Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer. Dr. Das gave a lively and accessible overview of the winners’ work that merited the prize. The talk was well attended and there was an insightful discussion in the Q&A period.

Dimitrios Diamantaras introduces the lecture

Dimitrios Diamantaras, Theta of PA advisor, introduces the lecture. Photo credit: Kaitlin Flynn

Michael Leeds speaks about Phi Beta Kappa

Michael Leeds talks about Phi Beta Kappa. Photo credit: Kaitlin Flynn

Veronika Konovalova speaks

Veronika Konovalova, president of the Theta of PA chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon, speaks about the chapter and the Honor society. Photo credit: Kaitlin Flynn

Vincent DiMichele

Vincent DiMichele, president of the Temple Economics Society, talks about the society. Photo credit: Kaitlin Flynn

Shreyasee Das

Shreyasee Das begins the lecture. Photo credit: Viviane Sanfelice

Shreyasee Das delivers the lecture

Shreyasee Das delivers the lecture. Photo credit: Dimitrios Diamantaras

Shreyasee Das lecturing

Shreyasee Das during the lecture. Photo credit: Veronika Konovalova