A new chapter of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN) at the Department of Electrical Engineering (as it was known then) was petitioned to be chartered at the initial accreditation of the EE Program in 1988. Assigned in order the chapter was chartered as the Iota Sigma Chapter of HKN. The Chairman of the Department was Dr. Charles K. Alexander who was elected President of the IEEE in 1997. The first Faculty Adviser was Dr. Dennis Silage, Gamma Beta HKN. The first Initiation ceremony was held on May 12, 1989 with twenty-two charter members of the Chapter.