Founded in 1939, the Pennsylvania Political Science Association (PPSA) is the nation’s oldest state political science association.  Its mission has always been to promote scholarship, research, and the exchange of ideas within the Pennsylvania community of political scientists.  PPSA draws its membership principally from the political science and public administration faculties of Pennsylvania’s public and private colleges and universities, but also includes government professionals and faculty members from surrounding states.  PPSA’s annual conference includes dozens of panelists covering a wide variety of subject areas. While university faculty compose the vast majority of participants, legislators, legislative staff, executive officials, and undergraduates also have been participants.


President – Steven Peterson, Penn State Harrisburg
First Vice President – Lanethea Mathews-Schultz, Muhlenberg College
Second Vice President – Michael Greenberg, Shippensburg University
Treasurer – Steven Lem, Kutztown University
Secretary – Paula Holoviak, Kutztown University

Executive Council: 2014-2017 Term
Michele DeMary, Susquehanna University
Kyle Kreider, Wilkes University

Executive Council: 2015-2018 Term
Michelle J. Atherton, Temple University
Heather Frederick, Slippery Rock University

Executive Council: 2016-2019 Term
Joseph P. McLaughlin, Jr., Temple University
Jenna Sweet Cushman, Chatham College

Ex Officio Members –
Past President – Chris Borick, Muhlenberg College
Past President – Stanley Berard, Lock Haven University