Dr. Yimin D. Zhang, Associate Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was elected a member of the Signal Processing Theory and Methods (SPTM) Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society. He will serve a three-year term starting in January 2019.

Dr. Zhang also serves as an elected member of the Sensor Array and Multichannel (SAM) Technical Committee of the IEEE Signal Processing Society since 2015 and was re-elected in 2018. His term of the SAM Technical Committee member will expire at the end of 2020.

IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, is the world’s largest professional association for the advancement of technology. As the IEEE’s first society, the Signal Processing Society is the world’s premier professional society for signal processing scientists and professionals since 1948. Technical committees in the Signal Processing Society are actively involved in nominating awards, organizing conferences, reviewing paper submissions, promoting educational activities, and providing technical advice to the Society’s leadership. Each of the technical committees consists of approximately 40 members who promote activities within the technical fields of their respective interests.

Dr. Zhang’s election is attributed to his active professional services and an impressive record of publications in signal processing. He has published more than 100 journal articles, 14 book chapters, and more than 200 conference papers, which have collectively received 5,600 citations with an H-index of 38. He is a senior member of both the IEEE and the International Society of Optics and Photonics (SPIE) and is actively involved in numerous professional societies. In addition to his technical committee activities, he currently also serves as an associate editor for the IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing and the Signal Processing journal. He was a Technical Co-Chair of the 2018 IEEE Sensor Array and Multichannel Signal Processing Workshop. He received the 2016 IET Radar Sonar and Navigation Premium Award and the 2017 IEEE AESS Harry Rowe Mimno Award. He is also a mentor in the area of radar systems of the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic System Society.